Pop up page from the menu

Third Party Plugins to CMSimple - how to install, use and create plugins

Moderator: Tata

Post Reply
Tata
Posts: 3587
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 5:34 am
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Pop up page from the menu

Post by Tata » Fri Mar 27, 2009 8:06 am

I am looking for a function which would open a pop up page directly from the menu. The window shall have only a close button (link). Have you seen such function somewhere? Something like here: http://www.famnissen.dk. The background shall be the main webpage.
E.g.:
[ external image ]
CMSimple.sk
It's no shame to ask for an answer if all efforts failed.
But it's awful to ask without any effort to find the answer yourself.

Holger
Site Admin
Posts: 3470
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 7:10 pm
Location: Hessen, Germany

Re: Pop up page from the menu

Post by Holger » Fri Mar 27, 2009 12:11 pm

Hi Tata,

maybe something like this: http://orangoo.com/labs/GreyBox/
or
http://digitarald.de/project/squeezebox/
Here's a demo like at famnissen.dk: http://digitarald.de/project/squeezebox ... -elements/

Holger

mvwd
Posts: 299
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 10:35 pm
Location: Baden Württemberg / Germany
Contact:

Re: Pop up page from the menu

Post by mvwd » Fri Mar 27, 2009 12:49 pm

...the easiest way to include something like this is to add a <div> and let JavaScript move it out of the browsers view.

Code: Select all

<div id="popup" style="position:absolute; margin:-40px 0 0 -20px; width:300px; border:1px solid red; background:#fff;">
  <span id="popup_close" style="float:right;" onclick="this.parentNode.style.left = '-10000px';">close</span>
  This is a little pop-Up.
  <br><br><br>
  ...it's cool, isn't it?
</div>
No need to include a JS-Framwork or anything else. ...and CMSimple (oEdit) seems to have no problems with the code.
If you want to have some effects like fading out, you have to choose something using a JS-Framework (as Holger wrote): JQuery, mooTools...

mvwd.

Holger
Site Admin
Posts: 3470
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 7:10 pm
Location: Hessen, Germany

Re: Pop up page from the menu

Post by Holger » Fri Mar 27, 2009 1:03 pm

mvwd wrote:

Code: Select all

  ...it's cool, isn't it?
Indeed :!:

Sorry, I've mixed up geniz' urls. I had this one in my mind:
http://cmsimple_addon.famnissen.dk/

Holger

Post Reply