Don't want the "locator" to be visible!

General questions about CMSimple
patrisch
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 9:08 pm

Don't want the "locator" to be visible!

Post by patrisch » Wed Jul 08, 2009 7:37 pm

Hey guys,

here are two other questions of mine:

I'm still working on the layout of the following homepage:

[ external image ]

1) I don't want the "locator" to be visible! (The function which delivers the path to the site which you are looking at!) Does anyone know how to remove that? (I want the context box to be at the location where the path is visible now. (*Hoping that you'll understand ...*)

2) I want to change the icon which is in front of each category (main menu on the left!). It would be best if it would look like this (did this in MS PowerPoint, so don't complain about the look - I just want you to get the impression!)

[ external image ]

Again, thanks a lot!

patrisch
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 9:08 pm

Re: Don't want the "locator" to be visible!

Post by patrisch » Thu Jul 09, 2009 2:03 pm

*PUSH*

I'm sorry for that ... :?
Last edited by patrisch on Fri Jul 10, 2009 6:00 am, edited 1 time in total.

mvwd
Posts: 299
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 10:35 pm
Location: Baden Württemberg / Germany
Contact:

Re: Don't want the "locator" to be visible!

Post by mvwd » Thu Jul 09, 2009 2:20 pm

1. Locator:
Stylesheet: .locator { display:none; }
OR
Template: delete <?php echo locator();>

2. Menu-Image:
Stylesheet:

Code: Select all

.doc {
	list-style: none;
	padding-left: 15px;
	background: url(../../index.php?image=doc) no-repeat;
}
.docs {
	list-style: none;
	padding-left: 15px;
	background: url(../../index.php?image=docs) no-repeat;
}
.sdoc {
	list-style: none;
	padding-left: 15px;
	background: url(../../index.php?image=sdoc) no-repeat;
}
.sdocs {
	list-style: none;
	padding-left: 15px;
	background: url(../../index.php?image=sdocs) no-repeat;
}
...change the url of the images to wherever you want.

3.
*PUSH*
..i don't like that!
mvwd.

patrisch
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 9:08 pm

Re: Don't want the "locator" to be visible!

Post by patrisch » Fri Jul 10, 2009 6:13 am

Hey, first I want to thank you for the code.

I now removed the locator, but now there's too much space between the title and the "bottom" of the header. I want the content to move up a little bit. How can I do this?

[ external image ]

ZiPs
Posts: 633
Joined: Thu May 22, 2008 6:17 pm
Location: Faxe, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Don't want the "locator" to be visible!

Post by ZiPs » Fri Jul 10, 2009 7:58 am

Find this

Code: Select all

<div id="middle_middle"><br><br>
<?=editmenu()?>
and delete this

Code: Select all

<br><br>
/ZiPs
Preben Dahl | Webmaster cmsimple.dk | Projekt-og domæne ejer Gert Ebersbach

patrisch
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 9:08 pm

Re: Don't want the "locator" to be visible!

Post by patrisch » Fri Jul 10, 2009 12:19 pm

Thanks. That worked.

But this main menu business ... I'm really lost. How can I change the space between the menu items? And then maybe put a picture above them?

THANKS SO FAR! @ZiP

Tata
Posts: 3588
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 5:34 am
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Don't want the "locator" to be visible!

Post by Tata » Fri Jul 10, 2009 7:09 pm

Hey, think about a little, Patrisch! If a menu appears where you have put the code

Code: Select all

<?php echo toc();?>
1. how about can appear a picture above it?
2. what would happen if you use the

Code: Select all

vspace=15px
within the image tag?
3. how about to find and read some HTML tutorial? Your question has nothing to do with CMSimple.
CMSimple.sk
It's no shame to ask for an answer if all efforts failed.
But it's awful to ask without any effort to find the answer yourself.

patrisch
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 9:08 pm

Re: Don't want the "locator" to be visible!

Post by patrisch » Fri Jul 10, 2009 8:37 pm

Hey Tata,

1st I'm really eased that both of you try to help me as well as you can! I always worked with Joomla! before. This project is my first one using CMSimple, which is the reason for me not being too familiar with the code. I always try to understand how things work, but if I'm not able to come to the solution by myself I need your help.

Don't think that I'm too lazy to think about a problem. This definitely isn't the case!

So ... To end my statement, there's nothing else for it but saying thanks again. =)

patrisch
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 9:08 pm

Re: Don't want the "locator" to be visible!

Post by patrisch » Fri Jul 10, 2009 9:02 pm

Tata wrote:Hey, think about a little, Patrisch! If a menu appears where you have put the code

Code: Select all

<?php echo toc();?>
1. how about can appear a picture above it?
2. what would happen if you use the

Code: Select all

vspace=15px
within the image tag?
3. how about to find and read some HTML tutorial? Your question has nothing to do with CMSimple.
Oh, I think it has ... The question is: How can I have one picture for each menu point? And not a picture above the menu? That wouldn't be difficult. I implemented the xtoc() - function. But everytime I delete the "//" to make the comments to code, the whole site turns white and nothing appears.

In which file can I fin this vspace - command? I searched for it in nearly every file ... stylesheet.css, template.htm .......

THX!

mvwd
Posts: 299
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 10:35 pm
Location: Baden Württemberg / Germany
Contact:

Re: Don't want the "locator" to be visible!

Post by mvwd » Sat Jul 11, 2009 1:33 pm

patrisch wrote:But everytime I delete the "//" to make the comments to code
...don't try to use more than one "function xli(..."! Only outcomment one of them (the one you need).

But in one thing Tata is right. If you read a html-tutorial including the usage of CSS, you will be able to define the space between the menu-items. Something like that:

Code: Select all

ul.menulevel1 li { margin:10px; }
...and this is not CMSimple-specific. This is simple CSS.

mvwd.

Post Reply