using CMSimple for teaching

Discussions and requests related to new CMSimple features, plugins, templates etc. and how to develop.
Please don't ask for support at this forums!
fabien

using CMSimple for teaching

Post by fabien » Sat Mar 28, 2009 9:44 pm

Hi all
I'm a computer science teacher and I have a course to learn to 14 years old pupils how to make a web site. I am using Dreamweaver this year, but the software is too complex for young pupils and doesn't give pretty results. More than that, it doesn't respect the web standards and it's not a free software.
I was looking for a good CMS for next year, and I think that CMSimple is what I need. But I have several requests to adapt this wonderful software to my exact needs.

1) Adding/Deleting a page is too complex. I need something faster and simpler. The MenuManager plugin is to heavy for what I need : I just want new page/new subpage/delete page buttons in the WYSIWYG editor. I wrote the code for this directly in adm.php (I just copied and modified the code that save the page). Can somebody tell me if this is the right way to proceed ? Can I add this type of functionality via a addon or a plugin to integrate it in a cleaner way ?

2) Multiuser. The configuration is the following : CMSimple is installed on the server, client computers access it via their browser (for content edition and media upload) and via the local network (for template edition). I want one content file and one configuration file per user. I also want a private image and download space for each user. Regarding the templates, I have a collection of downloaded template in a locked folder. At the beginning the user can apply every template to choose the one that best fit. Then he can choose one template that will be copied on its private user space so that he can edit it (I mean change images and colors). The best thing would be to add a locking feature so that if to pupils are connected under the same user name, there will be no conflict.